Mandatory quarantines for three states (arrivals)

Opinions, reviews, analyses & recommendations are the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, endorsed or approved by any of these entities. UponArriving has partnered with CardRatings for our coverage of credit card products. UponArriving and CardRatings may receive a commission from card issuers. 

Alaska, Hawaii, and Florida have all announced mandatory quarantines for certain arriving passengers and they are not messing around. For violating these quarantine orders, some states are stating that they will have jail sentences up to one year.


Florida has the most lenient quarantine policy.

It is only directed at flying passengers arriving from New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut.

The reason that these states are targeted is that a lot of people from those states head down to Florida during the winter months and so Florida is a natural retreat location for many.

Because things are so precarious in those states, a lot of people have been flocking down to Florida to get away from everything and so we have seen the quarantine implemented.

The quarantine is a mandatory 14 day period and those who self-quarantine are responsible for the costs of things like transportation, food, lodging and medical care.

Alaska and Hawaii have more stringent quarantine policies.

Any passenger, regardless of their departing location, who arrives by airplane in these states will be forced to quarantine for 14 days.

As soon as they arrive to the airport they must show authorities where they will be staying whether that be a residence, hotel, or some other type of lodging. They will then be required to isolate themselves there and are only allowed to leave for certain urgent medical needs. 

So this sounds like it is a much more stringent requirement than the lockdowns that we are seeing which allow people to go outside for a walk or head to the store.

It sounds like in this case the only permission you have to leave the place you are staying at is if you have some type of urgent medical need. 

Also, they are not allowed to have any visitors unless the visitor is a medical professional.

(There are some exceptions for certain types of workers who have approval from the state.) 

You might be wondering what happens if you violate the orders?

Well, in Alaska you could face a fine up to $25,000 or even one year in jail.

In Hawaii, you could face a fine up to $5,000 and one year in jail.

And in Florida you would be looking at a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by a 60 day jail sentence and up to a $500 fine.

These measures are pretty extreme especially in Alaska and Hawaii but they are all about flattening the curve.

In addition to Florida, Alaska and Hawaii would be prime destinations for many people looking to escape the chaos in mainland right now. So I can see why those states are worried about an influx of people coming in and potentially spreading disease.  

H/T

UponArriving has partnered with CardRatings for our coverage of credit card products. UponArriving and CardRatings may receive a commission from card issuers. Responses are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *